Cherwell Cricket League History

Cherwell League Cricket

The Cherwell League started in 1974. In 1994 it merged with the Trinity League and to date the statistics only cover the period of the combined leagues The Home Counties Premier League started in 2000 and the top 3 teams from Division 1 - 1st XI in 1999 joined this league. In 2000 the Cherwell League was reorganised to support this and 1st and 2nd XIs started to play in the same divisions. From 2001 there was straight promotion and relegation between all the divisions irrespective of the team (ie 1st, 2nd, 3rd XI etc).

We now have representation from Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Bedfordshire, Northamtonshire and Hertfordshire.

In 2021 all of the Oxfordshire Criket Association joined the league giving us now a total of 87 with a total of 189

This permitted a reorganisation of the structure to include some regionalisation and parallel divisions below level 3

The OCA cup competitions will continue, maintaining continuity since 1890