

## **Cherwell League 2016 General Meeting Minutes**

Thursday 24th November 2016 at Bicester & North Oxford Cricket Club, Akeman Street, Bicester.

### **Management Committee Present**

Richard Giles - Acting Chair, Len Payne -Treasurer , David Beck - League Secretary, Mike Dove, Gary Murton, Neilson Hinks (co-opted member)

### **Apologies**

David Pryor, Neil Megson

36 Clubs registered their attendance. Minster Lovell CC also attended with no voting rights. Meeting commenced at 19.35

The Acting Chairman welcomed all attendees to the meeting and gave a brief overview of the agenda. No other business had been lodged prior to the meeting.

During the year, cricket had sadly lost Chris Bishop, Roland Maule and Mike Buckley. A few words were said about each individual and their contributions to their Clubs and cricket in general. The Umpire of the Year Award would be named after Chris Bishop

### Minutes of 2015 Meeting

No questions were raised and the meeting unanimously approved the Minutes.

## Chairman's Report.

Previous Chairman Clive Ricks had resigned during the year. His report for 2016 had been circulated with the notices and is attached to these minutes.

There were no questions on the Chairman's report.

#### **Treasurer's Report**

The Treasurer informed the meeting the League were awaiting the Examiner's Report.

The Treasurer reported that the League had budgeted for a break even year and that in reality income had exceeded expenditure by £377.

In answer to questions from the floor, the Treasurer confirmed that no invoices are raised for annual subscriptions and these should be paid by January 2017. He also explained that balances were maintained at a level to ensure the League could run for 2 years without noticeable income if it ever needed to.

The Treasurer requested that the accounts be approved and adopted – the meeting did this unanimously.

The Treasurer proposed that Subscriptions (at £125 for two teams etc) be held at the current rate. After voting, the meeting agreed.

The Treasurer proposed a reduction for one year in the cost to Clubs of cricket balls to £10 each. It was confirmed extra balls could be ordered at the same time.

After voting the meeting agreed.

The Acting Chairman offered thanks to the Treasurer.

# Voting on election of Management Committee and election of Minster Lovell CC and re-election of Chearsley CC and Kimble CC

Voting papers were distributed for voting on the above.

**BREAK** 

Following the collection of the voting papers

The Management Committee nominees were elected en bloc as Brian Standish Chairman, Len Payne Treasurer, David Beck League Secretary, Mike Dove, Neilson Hinks, Neil Megson, Gary Murton, David Warner, David Pryor, Ian Murdoch, Jim Howe.

Minster Lovell CC were admitted to the League

Chearsley CC and Kimble CC were re-elected to the League.

# Voting on Constitutional and Rule Changes that had been circulated to the Clubs prior to the Meeting.

## <u>Constitution Amendment – seconded by East Oxford CC</u>

- re Suspension for one season only of the 'Two teams' ruling. Membership 3B) - Carried

## Registration Regulation Amendment - seconded by Cublington CC

re Removing of Eligibility Rules 5.1.1 and 5.1.2Not Carried

#### Playing Rules for 2017 Amendment - seconded by Cublington CC

- re Removing of Playing Rules 8.5,8.6 and 8.7 – after two votes not carried

## Playing Rules for 2017 Amendment – seconded by Kingston Bagpuize CC

- re split season of W/L/D and W/L cricket for teams in Divisions 1 to 3 - carried

## <u>Playing Rules for 2017 Amendment – seconded by Bledlow Ridge CC</u>

-re replacement of Playing Rule 5.15 (Bowler's allocations) - Carried

It was confirmed that Brackley and Great Tew had not attended the meeting and these clubs would be fined according to League Rules.

Meeting closed at 8.15pm

### Any other business

None had been advised in advance and there were no questions from the floor